Eligibility for Special Services

In order for a child to receive special services, both of the following conditions must be met.


1) The child must meet the eligibility standard established by the Tennessee State Department of Education for one of the following disabilities:


  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Developmental Delay
  • Intellectually Disabled
  • Intellectually Gifted
  • Speech Impairment
  • Language Impairment
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Autism
  • Other- Health Impaired
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Deafness
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Blindness
  • Visual Impairment
  • Deaf-Blindness
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Functional Delay
  • Traumatic Brain Injury

2) The child's needs cannot be met in the regular education classroom without special education services.


Once a child is determined to be eligible to receive special education services, an Individualized Education Program (IEP) for the child is developed with the most appropriate placement and accommodations.